Parkinson's

There is still no causal cure for Parkinson's disease. If drug therapies do not help or no longer help sufficiently, those affected can seek treatment in special clinics. Some of these specialist hospitals or neuro-rehab clinics also offer music therapy. This is an important accompanying therapy for Parkinson's disease.

By RAS - Gait training people with Parkinson's can improve their ability to walk with music or a metronome. Depending on the target, you can work on a longer stride, a stronger arm swing or a safer gait. It is crucial for a successful therapy to decide to the right Training music. The pace of the exercise is individually therapeutically adjusted. When you slow down, you tend to speed up. On the other hand, if your gait is unstable, you should choose slower tempos of 95 to a maximum of 105 bpm.

This is also the case with the Beelitz musical gymnastics. It was developed by the therapists from the Beelitz-Heilstätten Parkinson Center for self-training at home by people affected by Parkinson's disease. You can do this via the Parkinson Center 2 CDs with photo brochure relate.

English version

An app has also been developed at the Parkinson Center Beelitz-Heilstätten that generates musical movement feedback for gait training. This app is called CuraSwing, it is tailored to the needs of Parkinson's patients. In the case of gait blockages - the so-called Freezing – Rhythmic training with a metronome often helps you walk more fluidly again. The practice is done at a slower speed.

By therapeutic singing Parkinson's patients can intensively train their voice and breathing. The voice quality and breath-voice coordination improves. This also has positive effects on speaking and therefore communication. The songs are adapted to the vocal pitch and vocal symptoms. Optimal training is then possible and useful even with Parkinson's-related hypophonia. Under equipment You can find the LiLa song booklet to print yourself, also with links for therapeutic karaoke use.


In the dance music therapy Movements are playfully trained to circle, block or pair dances. In addition to the strong therapeutic effect for mobility and coordination, people suffering from Parkinson's can also regain the joy of exercise. (You too News: Dancing helps at Parkinson's)

At the Rhythmic speech training learn to articulate patients who were previously difficult to understand more clearly in time. Many of those affected suffer from a reduction in swallowing frequency. For this the Swallow Ringer developed. In the Instrumental improvisation Parkinson’s inexperienced musically can also try out musical instruments. In individual or group therapy, this method promotes disease processing in addition to motor skills. As such, it corresponds to one Music therapy psychotherapy. At the Music-based Fine motor skills training hands and fingers can be trained in such a way that activities in everyday life are easier again.

The diverse effects of music on relaxation, improving mood and drive, and stimulating mobility and walking in Parkinson’s disease can be exploited by personalized playlists creates.

More information about music therapy for Parkinson’s: “Almost as good as L-dopa. Music also inspires Parkinson’s disease” – blog post by the German Music Therapy Society. And in the overview article on music gait training by Dr. Stefan Mainka “Music stimulates muscles, mind, and feelings in one go”.

Parkinson

Die Parkinsonerkrankung lässt sich bis heute nicht ursächlich heilen. Wenn medikamentöse Therapien nicht oder nicht mehr ausreichend helfen, können Betroffene sich in Spezialkliniken behandeln lassen. Diese Fachkrankenhäuser oder Neuro-Reha-Kliniken bieten teilweise auch Musiktherapie an. Dies ist bei Morbus Parkinson eine wichtige begleitende Therapie.

Durch RAS – Gangtraining mit Musik oder Metronom können Parkinsonkranke ihre Gehfähigkeit verbessern. Je nach Zielvorgabe kann man an einer größeren Schrittlänge, einem stärkeren Armschwung oder einem sichereren Gangbild arbeiten. Entscheidend für den Therapieerfolg ist die richtige Trainingsmusik. Das Übungstempo wird individuell therapeutisch angepasst. Bei verlangsamtem Gehen wird eher beschleunigt. Demgegenüber sollten Sie bei Ganginstabilität langsamere Tempi von 95 bis maximal 105 bpm wählen.

Das ist auch bei der Beelitzer Musikgymnastik der Fall. Sie wurde von den Therapeuten vom Parkinsonzentrum Beelitz-Heilstätten für das häusliche Eigentraining von Parkinsonbetroffenen entwickelt. Über das Parkinsonzentrum kann man dazu 2 CDs mit Fotobroschüre beziehen.

englische Version

Am Parkinsonzentrum Beelitz-Heilstätten wurde auch eine App entwickelt die ein musikalisches Bewegungsfeedback für das Gangtraining bei Parkinson erzeugt. Diese heißt CuraSwing und ist für Apple-geräte verfügbar. Bei Gangblockaden – dem sogenannten Freezing – hilft oft ein rhythmisches Training mit Metronom wieder flüssiger zu gehen. Geübt wird dafür mit einer verlangsamten Geschwindigkeit.

Durch therapeutisches Singen können Parkinsonpatienten intensiv die Stimme und die Atmung schulen. Es verbessert sich die Stimmqualität und Atem-Stimmkoordination. Dies hat auch positive Auswirkungen auf das Sprechen und somit auf die Kommunikation. Die Songs werden dabei der Stimmlage und der Stimmsymptomatik angepasst. Ein optimales Training ist dann auch bei parkinson-bedingter Hypophonie möglich und sinnvoll. Unter Zubehör finden Sie das LiLaLiederheft zum selber drucken, auch mit Links für die therapeutische Karaoke-anwendung.


In der tänzerischen Musiktherapie werden zu Kreis-, Block- oder Paartänzen spielerisch Bewegungen trainiert. Neben dem starken Therapieeffekt für die Beweglichkeit und die Koordination können Parkinsonkranke hierbei auch die Freude an Bewegung zurückgewinnen. (Sie dazu auch Nachrichten: Tanzen hilft bei Parkinson)

Beim Rhythmischen Sprechtraining lernen vorher schwer verständliche Patienten im Takt wieder deutlicher zu artikulieren.  Viele Betroffene leiden unter einer Verminderung der Schluck-häufigkeit. Hierfür wurde der Schluck-Wecker entwickelt. In der Instrumentalimprovisation können auch musikalisch unerfahrene Parkinsonpatienten sich auf Musikinstrumenten ausprobieren. In Einzel- oder Gruppentherapie fördert diese Methode neben der Motorik auch die Krankheitsverarbeitung. Als solche entspricht sie einer Musiktherapeutischen Psychotherapie.  Beim Musikgestützten Feinmotoriktraining können Hände und Finger so trainiert werden, dass Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens wieder leichter von der Hand gehen.

Die vielfältigen Wirkungen der Musik auf Entspannung, zur Verbesserung von Stimmung und Antrieb und zur Stimulation der Beweglichkeit und des Gehen bei Parkinson lassen sich nutzen, indem man sich personalisierte Playlists anlegt. Hier erklären wir wie das gut geht.

Mehr Infos zu Musiktherapie bei Parkinson: „Fast do gut wie L-Dopa. Musik beflügelt auch bei Parkinson“ – Blog-beitrag der Dt. Musiktherapeutischen Gesellschaft. Und im Übersichtsartikel zu Musikgangtraining von Dr. Stefan Mainka „Music stimulates muscles, mind, and feelings in one go“.